No More Stale Content

One of my business mentors once said that stale information and an outdated blog do absolutely nothing to promote one’s endeavors.
Some of the authors I’ve worked with admit it’s time consuming to keep their blog’s content fresh. perhaps  what they don’t realize is that unless they first plan their blog content ahead of time,
little will get done.  Some authors tell me, the idea of planning can be a daunting tasks. Of course, it is possible to hire a virtual assistant to write your blog for you, but unless they have a brilliant way to capture your voice, the blog post won’t be authentic, and readers will pick up on it.  An author, myself, I’ve come to realize that publicity is a full time job and all consuming. I’ve learned to make things easier, and keep those feeling of overwhelm at bay. As a public relations  practiioner, planning is one of my areas of expertise, but you don’t have to be in my field to know how to approach making a sound plan to promote your book. One of the keys in making a plan is to review your objectives and then make sure that each task relates to taking a step towards reaching target audiences. As you review your objectives,  you may also find ideas for new content.  Since I love to use myself as a case study, to prove a point- I would not suggest others take an action, unless I’ve actually tried it myself, I’ll talk about what I’ve been doing recently.  Recently, I was interviewed by a psychotherapist who is also a radio host. The conversation shed light on an interesting idea I’d like to pursue in my author’s blog. The thrust of my memoir, BORN  IN THE LAND OF THE TANGO, deals with identity politics.  The question came up during the interview, ” What exactly is is the value of knowing who you are and tracing your family roots?”  Lately, I’ve been doing a bit of research on pulling together a blog about researching family roots and offering tips.  My feeling is that many authors have themes within their books they may not  be aware of but that once tapped can attract a  sizeable  amount of new readers.  You will never know what those themes are unless you are engaged in talking about your book and it doesn’t have to be with a media outlet, but with a friend.  By talking about your book, it’s possible to have a brainstorm and at the same time generate ideas for your blog as I illustrated in my example.

Someone very wise once said, “the media is obsessed with health, money and love.”  Just scanning some lifestyle TV segments and print articles will confirm this idea. My question is always- how can I creatively relate my book to these media obsessions and get more coverage for my book and create fresh content for my author’s blog?  Don’t let your blog grow stale, plan your content, engage with your readers and you’ll have a plethora of new ideas.

About ONealMedia
O’Neal Media Group In a crowded PR field, do you want to be treated by your publicist as the only client? O’Neal Media Group can deliver value and enhance your market recognition, increase your visibility, and meet your public relations goals and most important of all- get you results by: • Focusing enthusiastically on your needs and delivering 110% because we take pride in our profession • Walking many extra miles to assist you achieve your goals through strategic planning and creation of a comprehensive communications plan. • Representing you and your company in the utmost professional manner • Using the best technology in the industry to create press kits, relational contact management, and fast press kit updates when breaking news hits. • Tailored services based on your organization’s needs that translates into a stronger message being portrayed through PR • Consistency and trust whereby when new opportunities come up in the media that will benefit you , we will keep you appraised by e-mail, or phone. • Assurance that we make every effort to completely understand your market since we schedule a 60 minute “Great Start” brainstorming session via phone, or face to face.

Leave a Reply

